The 21st Century Learner

Posted: October 22, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I recently presented with a colleague to a group of parents regarding school goal setting.  We discussed and presented the process of goal setting and then looked at how this process can possibly and hopefully develop between the community and school.  As many of you know, in Saskatchewan, the parent/community councils that work with schools are now known as the School Community Council (SCC).  Our presentation focused on ways that the SCC can become actively engaged and part of the school goal setting process. In the opening, contextual piece of the presentation we challenged our session participants to think of the school that they attended and then to think of the ideal school they would like their child to attend.  What should students learn in school today to become productive and contributing members to our ever-changing world?  As part of our presentation, we shared the following video. The video is not really that new, however, every time I watch it a tidbit or two stands out for me and reminds me of some of the personal goals I have as part of my own professional development.  Have a great week everyone!!

Comments
  1. sjphipps says:

    Thanks for the clip Dean. I haven’t seen this one before. I have now shared it with my staff and the parents of my students!

  2. taylorm says:

    That’s a great clip I have never seen it before either. I think the key term is engagement. I teach construction, a class where the students are engaged most of the time. I am lucky because most of the students that come to me in grade 10-12 are interested and want to learn the subject. The only difficulty I have is incorporating technology into my class, mostly because of cost. If we all had an unlimited budget more teachers would be able to engage more students.

    • tmemann says:

      You raise such a great point-if students come to you in construction and are interested and engaged what can we learn from this and transfer to other grades and subjects? Is it because they have choice? Follow their interests? Get to actively learn? Hands-on? I think it is sad that some/many students have to wait to feel interested and engaged until they get to pick option classes. I know we can capture this elsewhere-I believe it to be possible! 🙂

  3. mickpanko says:

    I think one of our greatest challenges, as teachers, is figuring out how to do school differently – in a way that honors what today’s students will need as adults – when school in a traditional sense worked for so many people who are now teachers.
    The video is a cool one and raises some interesting statistics, that while a bit dated are scary. What are we doing to prepare all of our students to be successful?
    What an awesome idea to involve parents in the goal setting process – did you seek student input as well?

    • Hey Mick, thanks for the comments. You hit the nail on the head…how do we do school differently? It worked for us, but is that what today’s student needs? Short answer no, well maybe to some degree, but definitely changes are needed. Regarding the SCC session we didn’t include students this time, I think future sessions will address this. Cheers! Have a great week.

  4. Chelsi says:

    Thanks for the clip! I had never seen it before, and I have saved it to show others on staff.

  5. tmemann says:

    One statement that really struck me (out of many) was “How do you learn?” When I think about my learning in ECI831 and the rest of my Master’s classes and the level of excitement, passion and engagement I feel, I know I want my students to feel the same way. The way I am learning here is so different than I learned in K-12 and even during my undergrad (15 years ago). If I am loving this open, creative, active way of learning then why wouldn’t our students? It shouldn’t be a stark difference, two completely different worlds between how we learn and how we create learning experiences for our students. I am always amazed how one seemingly simple question or statement can really spark so much more thinking. Thank you!

  6. Thanks for posting this, Dean. I was wondering – are you on Twitter, and our Twitter list? http://twitter.com/#!/courosa/eci831-fall2011/members … I was going to tweet it to the group, but can’t find you. I’m hoping to convince you to give it a try if you’re not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

