5 Card flickr-Starting my #eci831 story

Posted: October 17, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

To date, my journey through eci831 can be described as informative and eye-opening to say the least. Right now, I would rate myself as being at the “messy” stage of learning in the course. I’m trying to figure it all out, learn everything, read everything and have it all done by yesterday. As I work through all of our course material, blogs and tweets, I am in a constant state of learning new things and as mentioned above, trying to figure it all out. I am following Mark McGuire’s blog – http://markmcguire.net/ and ran across a fun diversion from all of my deep thinking. His post is called “Five Card Stories” and refers to a post by Alan Levine in his blog, CogDogBlog. As I experimented with what I thought was going to be an amusing way to spend some time and procrastinate, I found the process of creating my 5 Card Flickr Story a great way to start formulating my final reflection and summary of learning in #eci831.

Check out Mark or Alan’s post for more information on the process.  After a bit of experimentation, I found my way in this new (to me) way of story telling. I love the educational opportunities the 5 card story presents.  Anyhow, here goes…


Five Card Story: #eci831 – My Five Card Flickr Story

a Five Card Flickr story created by Dean Schwebius


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by Serenae

With eyes wide open I start this journey that will take us down similar and different paths. This journey will lead us to new and exciting places, connect us with others and open up the world of education in a way that I have never experienced.


All the best, take care and see you in the chat room on Tuesday! If you live in Saskatchewan, have a great Education Week!

Comments
  1. gcyrenne says:

    Dean, I love this 5 card story idea. I think it would be a great way to have kids write a very short tale. I am going to pass this along to my Grade 7/8 teacher. I know what you mean about trying to wade through the information. I tell myself that I am getting to work and then three hours later I have a million websites open and I am still reading people’s blogs. It can be overwhelming but more than anything, I get distracted by clicking on things that others find interesting.

  2. Chelsi says:

    I love this and am totally inspired to procrastinate in the same manner! I also want to try this with my class! Great post!

  3. tmemann says:

    What a great way to express learning, thinking and connections…this has a great fit for UDL. Thanks for sharing the resources and showing your use of it. 🙂

  4. mickpanko says:

    This is a really neat way to organize thinking and have students make connections to things they know (is this activating prior knowledge) so that they can create new meaning and experiences.

    I am going to share this with my wife who is a new ELA teacher…seems like a fun exercise.

  5. Thanks for this post, Dean. I love that you blogged about what you’re trying, and how you were inspired. It’s great to see how you have connected with Alan’s invention (he’s one of our future guests) and Mark, who has been a great mentor in this class!

    • allandlowrie says:

      Too true, too true. I am impressed with you openly taking risks.

      My challenge is to know how much I can share from historical work at my school without breaching FOIP protocol. We have a plethora of information and I am in the midst of ensuring I do not unwittingly expose certain people’s shared thoughts by laying out information that is designed to inform only a staff not necessarily out in the world creating unintended digital footprints.

  6. onepercentyellow says:

    LOVE the 5-card flickr. Oh @cogdog, what won’t you come up with next!

  7. […] in the course I tried the 5 Card Flickr Story tool and found the process to be engaging and entertaining.  I shared this with some of my […]

  8. […] learning more about delicious.com and then writing about it in this blog. My experimentation with a 5-card Flickr Story was also a positive experience for me in the course and one that I appreciated in a technical and […]

Leave a Reply

