Extracurricular activities and improved student performance

Posted: September 19, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

To continue from my last post regarding staff and student participation in extracurricular activities, I have begun some research on the topic.  More specifically, the benefits of these activities on student performance at school.  One of the first articles I found was in Regina’s daily newspaper, the Leader-Post, August 24th, 2011.  This article provides a basic summary of the benefits of extracurricular activities for students.  Although I believe it is widely accepted that these activities are beneficial for students, this article does provide some information that may be useful to staff, students and parents/caregivers.  I welcome all discussion and feedback on this topic and more specifically this article. Extracurricular activities could help improve school performance

Comments
  1. Sandy says:

    Beaumont School in Winnipeg is piloting a project by starting each school day with a 10-15 minutes activity to raise heart rates. The project is being run by our phys ed teacher, Kathy Isaacs. She would be better able to give you more info in regards to theory, hopes, outcomes, etc.

  2. Participatin in extra curricular activites can improve organizational and planning skills and attitudes. For example, homework and household responsibilities may have to be rescheduled in order to accommodate extra curricular activities.

  3. Wayne Meadows says:

    Follow up w me and I can fill your boots w stats and research
    Wayne Meadows – Consultant
    Calgary, AB

  4. Tracie says:

    Here is a story that really stuck with me when it came out….forgot that it was local though. It seems there have been other similar projects since around the country with a quick search this am. Excellent topic….

    http://trusted.md/blog/vreni_gurd/2009/04/25/exercise_improves_learning#axzz1YUnPwMU9

  5. Sarah says:

    I am not sure about stats but what I do know is that the students in my class who are involved in extra-curricular activities are always the students who are the most organized, have the best social skills as well as problem solving skills, and the ones who have their homework done with the highest academic averages.

    My concern as a parent is knowing when and where is the limit to extra-curricular activities. I want to expose my children to as much as possible, but I also don’t want to overwhelm them either.

    • Agreed Sarah. As a parent with young children I have already faced this decision and have stepped back and asked myself, “…am i over scheduling my 6 tear old?” On the other hand, through activities such as dance, art class and gymnastics I have seen such growth in confidence, athletic ability and problem solving skills. As I’m sure we both agree, balance is the key and is not always easy to determine given the ultra-competitive society we are immersed in. Currently I am teaching a social studies unit on “worldview. ” We have discussed that we don’t always recognize our worldview when we are immersed in it. That’s how I feel sometimes regarding this issue. Interesting food for thought, thanks for replying to my post.

  6. […] started my blog posts by discussing the impact of extra-curricular activities and students performance. Through this post, I received some great feedback from my classmates […]

Leave a Reply

